Marcus DiPaola
5 min readApr 24, 2019

Hi, my name is Marcus, I’m a journalist. I spent the last 11 years of my life working for mainstream news outlets, and I work as a freelance field producer for mainstream media outlets.

I grew up in China but I’m not Chinese.

My work has been used by: ABC News, NBC News, CBS News, PBS NewsHour, CNN, MSNBC, CNBC, New York Times, Bloomberg, Chicago Sun-Times, Business Insider, The Guardian, Forbes, Conde Nast, CNC World, Al Jazeera, Huffington Post, Getty Images, NPR, the Newseum, and RUPTLY.

I currently anchor the news on TikTok. I use a writing style designed to make it possible for middle schoolers with learning disabilities to understand the news.

One way or another, you found the fun way to meet me, which includes video and editorial from stories I’ve covered.

I flew in two days before Hurricane Florence’s arrival, put myself in a hotel that was on track to get a direct hit, used FEMA flood maps to find out which places would flood, looked for search and rescue in those places, found Ryan Nichols (the guy in the U.S. flag life vest) a volunteer conducting urban search and rescue operations.

We traveled by boat to areas that were inaccessible and I documented his rescues of people and animals.

Here’s everything you want to know about my recent work:

In 2021, I covered the attack by pro-Trump forces on the U.S. Capitol

In 2019 and 2020,

  • I shot daily liveshots for Daily Mail TV at the White House
  • I covered President Donald Trump’s impeachment as a cuts cam inside the chamber for a wire service and also from a newsroom desk, producing correspondent liveshots for a national network.

In 2018,

  • I had a funny run-in with a bat while covering a Trump rally
  • I produced a mini-documentary with a print reporter where we investigated Chicago Public Schools manufacturing the appearance of community support for a project that would negatively impact low-income communities, which led to the delay and modification of that project, and the caused the local teachers’ union to demand the Investigator General launch an investigation.
  • I covered Hurricane Florence

In 2017, I covered:

In 2016,

  • I also covered the Dakota Access Pipeline protest in North Dakota. I was physically present in the camp when the court decided the case in favor of the protesters.
Cannon Ball, Nd. DAPL protest, 2016

In 2015, I covered:

Dog show, 2014

In 2014, I covered the Ferguson riots as an on-camera reporter and print writer for Chinese TV & the Chinese wire service, and packaged and fronted a ton of Chinese-American stories.

Detroit Auto Show, 2018

In 2013, while in college, I witnessed, chased, and covered the immediate aftermath of an EF5 tornado in Moore, Oklahoma, which killed 24 people and injured 212 others. This was also the year I graduated college.

Moore, Okla. tornado, 2013

In 2012, while in college,

Hurricane Sandy, 2012

In 2011, while in college,

Hurricane Sandy, 2012

In 2009 and 2010, I was a journalism major at Rutgers University. While in college, I did internships at:

  • The Trentonian newspaper, where I covered local municipal meetings, crime, sports, and house fires
  • WZBN Channel 25, where I was partnered with future Yahoo News anchor Sibile Morency.
  • News12 New Jersey, where I woke up at 3 a.m. to be in the office by 4 a.m. to be on the air by 5 a.m.
  • I also was a news assistant at NY1 (an off-camera MMJ job)

In 2007 and 2008, during high school, I did an internship with Senator Shirley K. Turner in New Jersey. I started out answering phones and writing down people’s complaints for the senator to read, and then I got to write policy memos suggesting fixes in the laws and systems to address their complaints.

She was the chair of the education committee and I was big into education policy (still am!). She and her staff taught me how to advocate for others within the government and how systemic problems can be addressed systematically.

I switched from politics to journalism because I wasn’t satisfied with the speed at which problems were being addressed, and which problems were being dealt with first. It felt like boomers were getting all their problems solved, but no one gave a shit about us, and the purpose of news is to show the country and politicians what problems need to be solved immediately.

Now that you know my background, here’s the story behind my TikTok addiction. And here’s a link to my TikTok.

And that’s it! Need to reach me? There’s a link to contact me on my Linktree.